Hours and Admissions

Museum Hours


Museum gardens, outdoor exhibits only;  September 14–October 7, 2021
Tuesday - Sunday 9:30 a.m.–5:00 p.m. (Entrance until 4:30 p.m.)

Admission


Museum gardens, outdoor exhibits only;  September 14–October 7, 2021
Adult 300 yen
University Student (ID required) 150 yen
  • Admission to the gardens and outdoor exhibitions is free for high school students and other youths age 0–17, seniors over 70, visitors with disabilities and one caretaker, and for Campus Members (including faculty). Please show I.D.
  • Guide booklet is provided with adult admission only.

We accept these credit card at the ticket booth.
acceptable credit card.

Museum Closures and Special Hours


Closed:
Mondays.
When Monday is a national holiday, the museum will be opened on Monday and closed on the next day (Tuesday).
Special Hours:
  • The museum will be closed on
    Friday, March 26, 2021;
    Friday, July 23, 2021;
    Friday, October 8, 2021;
    and from Monday, December 27, 2021 through Saturday, January 1, 2022.
  • The museum is temporarily closed April 25 to May 11, 2021.
2021 Permanent Collection (Thematic Exhibitions) Galleries Closures:
  • Collection Galleries are either closed or used as Special Exhibitions Galleries
    from Saturday, March 27 to Sunday, May 16;
    from Saturday, July 24 to Sunday, September 12;
    and from Saturday, October 9 to Sunday, December 5, 2021.
  • When Special Exhibitions are underway, one cannot buy a separate ticket for the Collection Galleries. To access them, one must purchase a ticket for the Special Exhibition.
The Museum Galleries* are Closed:
  • Tuesday, March 9 through Thursday, March 25, 2021**
  • Tuesday, May 18 through Friday, June 4, 2021
  • Tuesday, July 6 through Thursday, July 22, 2021**
  • Tuesday, September 14 through Thursday, October 7, 2021**
  • Tuesday, December 7 through Sunday, December 26, 2021
  • Wednesday, March 23 through Sunday, Apil 10, 2022
*Admission to the Museum Garden and Outdoor Exhibits: Please see below.
**The entire museum will be closed on Friday, March 26, 2021; on Friday, July 23, 2021;on Friday, October 8, 2021.
Admission to the Museum Gardens and Outdoor Exhibits:
When the Collection galleries are closed, one may purchase admission to the gardens and outdoor exhibitions for 300 yen including guide booklet to the Kyoto National Museum gardens and outdoor exhibits.
Admission to the gardens and outdoor exhibitions is free for high scool students and younger, seniors over 70, visitors with disabilities and one caretaker, and for Campus Members (including faculty). Please show I.D. Sorry, but guide booklet is not provided with free admission.

Extended Hours are not in effect for admission to the gardens and outdoor exhibitions.

*Please see above information on Museum Closures and check the Museum Calendar ahead of your visit.

A Message to Museum Visitors

↑ Back to Top